Keselowski Wins Brickyard 400; Kurt Busch Champion of 2018 Regular Season

The final Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series race of the regular season saw Brad Keselowski win the Big Machine Vodka 400 at The Brickyard and Kyle Busch crowned as its 2018 regular season champ.

After all practices and qualifying were cancelled due to a very wet weekend in Indy, the very first laps any car in the field took were the warm up laps Monday afternoon. The very best drivers in the world made a show of it with Clint Bowyer and Matt Kenseth picking up stage wins and a pass with a lap and a half to go that sealed the deal for Keselowski. The win at The Brickyard is the 25th of his career in the 25th Cup Series race at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. The win was also the first there in the Cup Series for Team Penske, an organization with a long history of success in
INDYCAR at the track.

There were 10 cautions for 39 laps and 14 lead changes among 9 drivers: Bowyer, Denny Hamlin, Kyle Busch, Kevin Harvick, Kurt Busch, Keselowski, Kenseth, William Byron, and Ryan Blaney.

The first race in the Round of 16 is Sunday at Las Vegas, the South Point Hotel & Casino 400. Race Center

– story by John Singler
Concord, North Carolina


Round of 16 as of 9/10/2018

1. Kyle Busch @ 2050 points
2. Kevin Harvick (–)
3. Martin Truex, Jr. (-15)
4. Brad Keselowski (-31)
5. Clint Bowyer (-35)
6. Joey Logano (-36)
7. Kurt Busch (-36)
8. Chase Elliott (-42)
9. Ryan Blaney (-43)
10. Erik Jones (-45)
11. Austin Dillon (-45)
12. Kyle Larson (-45)
13. Denny Hamlin (-47)
14. Aric Almirola (-49)
15. Jimmie Johnson (-50)
16. Alex Bowman (-50)

For the complete driver standings, please visit the official page on

Tags: ,