Joey Logano wins his first NASCAR Cup Series Championship

With a victory in the Ford EcoBoost 400, Joey Logano earned the right to lift the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Championship trophy last night at a breezy Homestead-Miami Speedway. Logano made a late race pass on defending champion Martin Truex Jr. after a restart with 12 laps to go and then pulled away from the field. At times, it looked like this would be the first Cup Series finale to be won by someone other than the eventual champion since Denny Hamlin did it in 2013.

Hamlin, your pole sitter, and Kyle Larson, the master of driving next to the fence, both led and had strong cars, but in the end the top four finishing positions were held by the Championship 4 drivers. Logano, then Truex, Kevin Harvick, and Kyle Busch, with Brad Keselowski rounding out the top five. Matt Kenseth, in likely his last Cup Series race, finished 6th, with Chase Elliott, Clint Bowyer, Aric Almirola, and Kurt Busch completing the top ten.

There were 22 lead changes among seven drivers and 5 cautions for 26 laps. In their final race together, Jimmie Johnson and Chad Knaus managed a 14th place finish. It is Logano’s 21st Cup Series victory and Ford’s first manufacturer’s championship since 1991.

More on this story at


– story by John Saunders, Jr.
Concord, North Carolina


Championship 4 as of 11/19/2018

1. Joey Logano  ***2018 Champion***
2. Martin Truex, Jr.  (-5)
3. Kevin Harvick  (-6)
4. Kyle Busch  (-7)

For the complete driver standings, please visit the official page on

Tags: , ,